The Next Best Thing

Album artwork

The Next Best Thing, the album - front cover

The Next Best Thing, the album - back cover

Album tracklist

  1. Metisse - Boom Boom Ba
  2. Manu Chao - Bongo Bong
  3. Christina Aguilera - Don't Make Me Love You ('Till I'm Ready)
  4. Madonna - American Pie
  5. MandaLay - This Life
  6. Groove Armada - If Everybody Looked The Same
  7. Moby - Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?
  8. Olive - I'm Not In Love
  9. Stars All Seem To Weep - Beth Orton
  10. Madonna - Time Stood Still
  11. Solar Twins - Swayambhu
  12. Gabriel Yared - Forever And Always

Single releases

  1. American Pie - March 2000

Album release

Madonna and Rupert Everett starred in the 2000 romantic comedy The Next Best Thing, directed by John Schlesinger. The soundtrack album was released by Maverick Records on February 21, 2000.

As executive producer of the album, Madonna hand-picked all the tracks, including songs by tracks by Moby, Beth Orton, Christina Aguilera, and Groove Armada. Herself, she contributed two tracks: the Don McLean cover American Pie, which features in the film, and a new track Time Stood Still, written together with William Orbit.


American Pie was released as a single and reached #1 in the UK, Italy, Australia, Germany, and Japan. The soundtrack album got to #34 on the US Billboard 200 album chart.

↑ Back to top of page