Madame X

Album artwork

Madame X, the album

Album cover

Madame X (Standard Edition) - front cover Madame X (Deluxe Edition) - front cover
Madame X (Standard Edition) - back cover Madame X (Deluxe Edition) - back cover

Album tracklist

Standard/Deluxe Edition:

  1. Medellín
  2. Dark Ballet 
  3. God Control
  4. Future
  5. Batuka
  6. Killers Who Are Partying
  7. Crave
  8. Crazy
  9. Come Alive
  10. Extreme Occident (Deluxe Edition only)
  11. Faz Gostoso
  12. Bitch I’m Loca
  13. I Don’t Search I Find
  14. Looking For Mercy (Deluxe Edition only)
  15. I Rise

Deluxe box set bonus disc:

  1. Funana
  2. Back That Up to the Beat
  3. Ciao Bella

Single releases

  1. Medellín - Apr. 2019
  2. Crave - May 2019
  3. Dark Ballet - June 2019

Album release

More than 4 years after Rebel Heart, Madonna returns with the release of her 14th studio album. She uses that number 14 in her promotion: on April 14 she announces the album title, Madame X, while the album release is set for June 14, 2019.

In a series of Instagram posts, Madonna reveals the many personas of Madame X: she's a secret agent, a dancer, a professor, a head of state, a housekeeper, an equestrian, a prisoner, a student, a teacher, a nun, a mother, a child, a singer, a saint, a whore, and a spy in the house of love. In interviews, Madonna explains that Madame X was a name given to her by Martha Graham, when she studied at Graham's school of dance. Martha Graham gave her the name because Madonna was always dressing differently and taking on different identities, similar to the character Madame X from the 1908 play 'Madame X' by Alexandre Bisson and the 1966 movie 'Madame X', featuring Lana Turner.

The album is influenced by music and dance genres from Portugal (fado) and Cape Verde (morna, funana). Adding to the latin vibes are collaborations with Colombian reggaeton singer Maluma and Brazilian singer Anitta. There are also features by Swae Lee and Quavo.

When Madonna started working on the lbum in January 2018, she introduced us to the first songwriter for the album: Starrah. She ended up co-writing 6 album tracks.

After struggling to find the right producer for the record, Madonna reconnected with Mirwais, who previously worked on the albums Music, American Life and Confessions on a Dance Floor. Also on board were Mike Dean and Diplo, who both worked on many Rebel Heart tracks.

The album was released in different physical formats:

Standard Edition - CD album, single disc
Double vinyl 12" album - Black Vinyl
Double vinyl 12" album - WEB Exclusive Clear Vinyl
Double vinyl 12" album - Rainbow picture disc
Deluxe Edition - CD album, double disc, hardcover
Deluxe Box Set - 2 CDs - hardcover, cassette album, 7" picture disc, poster, tattoo set
Compact cassette

The Deluxe Edition contains 2 more tracks than the Standard Edition, while the box set brings us another 3 bonus tracks.

Before the album release, fans got to hear 5 songs: 'Medellín', 'I Rise', 'Crave', 'Future' and 'Dark Ballet'.


On April 17, Madonna released the first single 'Medellín' a midtempo reggaeton song which sees her collaborating with Colombian singer Maluma. Two weeks after the release, they perform the song together at the Billboard Music Awards.

For fans and critics it wasn't always clear if the other 4 tracks that were released before the album, should be considered as singles. 'Crave' and 'Dark Ballet' are generally considered as singles because they received their own music videos, while 'I Rise' and 'Future' are seen rather as pure album promotion.

It's believed that 'God Control' will follow as the next single.


On the day of its release, Madame X debuted at #1 in the iTunes album charts in more than 60 countries, including the US, UK, Australia, Canada, France, Germany and Italy.

↑ Back to top of page